Omtvedt Servant Leader Award

Ryan Evans
Ryan Evans
Agricultural Economics
2022 Omtvedt Servant leader award recipient

In recognition of outstanding employees who demonstrate servant leadership in a way that inspires collaboration and excellence, and elevates the performance of others.

About: The Omtvedt Servant Leader Award is made possible by Leone and the late Neal Harlan, great friends of the Institute of Agriculture and Natural Resources, in honor of Dr. Irv Omtvedt and his distinguished career at the University of Nebraska.  The Harlans had the vision and foresight to realize the importance of recognizing and supporting outstanding and innovative work in the Institute.  The award recognizes staff members within IANR for their excellence, leadership, and dedication.

Award: $1000

Eligibility: Full time IANR employees in office/service or managerial/professional roles. Employee cannot be on corrective probation.

Awards Home

Nomination Instructions

The full nomination packet should be submitted electronically via "NOMINATION FORM" link below and include;

  • Letter of recommendation; The nomination packet must include a letter of recommendation from the nominator.  The letter should include a detailed description of the qualities which make your nominee deserving of the award, including specific examples and quotes from colleagues when available. 
  • A current position description; To request a copy of the Position Description, please contact

Submit completed nomination packets electronically via the "Nomination Form". Once submitted, nomination packets are forwarded to the nominee's unit administrator for final approval.

All nominations are due October 1.

Nomination Form

Past Awardees

Omtvedt Servant Leader Award
Year Recipient Department 
2022 Ryan Evans Agricultural Economics
2021 Thomas McAndrew Agronomy & Horticulture
2020  Leann Galusha Biochemistry 
2019  Sarah Plautz Biological Systems Engineering 
2018  Jeff Golus West Central Research, Extension, and Education Center
2017  Jeffrey Perkins  Animal Science 
2016  Debra DeWald  AVE Business Center 
2016  Wanda Bowder  Food Science & Technology 
2016  Allen Specht  Business Center 
2016  Rosalee Swartz  Agricultural Economics 
2015  Clyde Naber  Animal Science 
2015  Judy Rastede  Northeast Research, Extension, and Education Center
2015  Roger Wilson  Agricultural Economics 
2014  David Althouse  South Central Agricultural Laboratory 
2014  Linda Arnold  IANR Vice Chancellor's Office 
2014  Vicky Kobes  Animal Science 
2014  Charlene Wendt  Agronomy & Horticulture 
2013  Bob Klein  West Central Research, Extension, and Education Center
2012  Barry Shull  IANR Vice Chancellor's Office