Dinsdale Family Faculty Award

In recognition of a meritorious faculty member for unique contribution in teaching, research, or extension education

About: The Dinsdale Family Faculty Award is in honor of the Dinsdale family.  The funds of this gift shall be used to provide awards to faculty for outstanding teaching, research, and outreach in the Institute of Agriculture and Natural Resources at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.  

Nominations will be evaluated based on creativity and excellence of the nominee's work in fulfilling his or her position description.  Examples of such creativity and excellence may include grants, publications and impact in the area of research; student evaluations, development of new methods of teaching, grants and course development in the area of teaching; and program impacts, responsiveness to clientele needs and development of new programs, materials and publications in the area of extension and outreach.


Eligibility: Faculty member who has not yet been awarded tenure or who is not in a tenure track position; e.g. equivalent rank faculty, lecturers, extension educators, who have demonstrated unique contributions in teaching, research, or extension education.

Awards Home

Nomination Instructions

The full nomination packet should be submitted electronically via "NOMINATION FORM" link below and include;

  • Letter of recommendation; the nomination packet must include a letter of recommendation from the nominator. The letter should include a detailed description of the qualities which make your nominee deserving of the award, including specific examples and quotes from colleagues when available. 
  • A current position description
  • An abbreviated CV; maximum of 5 pages.

Nominations can be made by anyone, however, the nomination will be submitted through and approved by the unit administrator. All nominations are due October 1 .


Past Awardees

Dinsdale Award
2020 Ajai Ammachathram Nutrition and Health Sciences
2019 Rebecca Wachs Biological Systems Engineering
2018 Cory Walters Agricultural Economics
2017 Dipti Dev Child, Youth and Family Studies
2016 Tomas Helikar Biochemistry
2015 Samodha Fernando Animal Science
2014 David Lambe Agronomy & Horticulture
2014 Deepak Keshwani Biological Systems Engineering
2013 Harkamal Walia Agronomy & Horticulture
2013 Tonia Durden Child, Youth, & Family
2012 Daniel Ciobanu Animal Science
2012 Angie Pannier Biological Systems Engineering
2012 Tom Weissling Entomology
2011 Aaron Berger Panhandle Research & Extension Center
2011 Cheryl Bailey Biochemistry
2011 Jennifer Wood Animal Science
2010 Maria de Guzman Child, Youth, & Family
2009 Tamra Jackson Plant Pathology
2009 Jens Walter Food Science & Technology
2008 Bill Booker Panhandle Research & Extension Center
2008 Stephen Wegulo Plant Pathology
2007 Amalia Yiannaka Agricultural Economics
2007 Deana Namuth Agronomy & Horticulture
2007 Kathy Hanford Animal Science
2006 Tala Awada School of Natural Resources
2006 Harshavardhan Thippareddi Food Science & Technology
2005 Greg Bashford Biological Systems Engineering
2005 Galen Erickson Animal Science
2004 Loren Giesler Plant Pathology
2004 Martha Mamo Agronomy & Horticulture
2003 Geoffrey Henebry School of Natural Resources
2003 Rosie Nold Animal Science
2002 Viacheslav Adamchuk Biological Systems Engineering
2002 Tom Clemente Agronomy & Horticulture
2001 Konstantinos Giannakas Agricultural Economics
2001 Scott Josiah School of Natural Resources
2000 Brian Benham South Center Research & Extension Center
2000 Jeffrey Cirillo Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences
1999 Susan Hefle Food Science & Technology